Product Liability
Hair Relaxer Settlement Amounts Settlement
Hair relaxer settlement figures face a documented record gap: Revlon's Chapter 11 filings show a PI settlement fund but no per-claim amounts. Read what is verified.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
No verified per-claim hair relaxer settlement amounts appear in the court and SEC documents reviewed for this page. The record shows a settlement mechanism, not a set of claimant figures. Revlon, Inc. and its debtor affiliates confirmed a Chapter 11 plan that created a PI Settlement Fund for personal injury claims. The documents do not state individual or aggregate recovery amounts. This page reports only what those filings establish, and flags plainly where the record is silent.
At a glance
- Revlon, Inc. and its debtor affiliates filed voluntary Chapter 11 petitions on June 15, 2022 and June 16, 2022 in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York, Case No. 22-10760 (DSJ).
- The court entered a confirmation order for the Third Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization, which establishes a PI Settlement Fund and PI Claims Distribution Procedures.
- “Talc Personal Injury Claims” were placed in Class 9(A) and were entitled to vote on the plan, according to the February 21, 2023 disclosure statement.
- The plan defines the 2016 Term Loan Claims Allowed Amount as $872,424,572 in principal plus $2,161,950 in accrued interest.
- No document supplied here states a hair relaxer settlement amount paid or owed to any claimant.
What the Revlon Chapter 11 filings actually say about settlement money
The Revlon, Inc. bankruptcy record is a corporate reorganization record. It allocates value among creditor classes. It does not price individual tort claims in the documents reviewed here.
The disclosure statement for the First Amended Joint Plan, dated February 21, 2023, distinguishes who could vote. Only holders of specified classes were solicited, including “TALC PERSONAL INJURY CLAIMS (CLASS 9(A)),” alongside term loan, notes, pension, trade and other general unsecured claims. Personal injury claimants sat in a named class rather than being paid out of a stated pool figure.
The Third Amended Joint Plan carries the mechanics. Article IV, Section R is captioned “GUC Trust and PI Settlement Fund.” Article VI is captioned “PI Settlement Fund” and includes a section on “The PI Claims Distribution Procedures.” The plan also provides for a “PI Claims Administrator” in Article VI, Section C. Those provisions describe how a fund is set up and how claims are processed.
None of those sections, as reproduced in the documents supplied, states a dollar amount for the fund or a formula that yields a per-claimant figure.
What is established vs. what is alleged
Established by court record: the Chapter 11 cases were commenced on June 15, 2022 and June 16, 2022. The confirmation order recites that the debtors filed the Joint Plan on December 23, 2022 at Docket No. 1253, the Disclosure Statement at Docket No. 1254, and the disclosure statement motion at Docket No. 1255. The confirmation order also recites entry into a Chapter 11 Restructuring Support Agreement on December 19, 2022, at Docket No. 1216, Exhibit A.
Established by the plan’s defined terms: the 2016 Term Loan Claims Allowed Amount equals $872,424,572 of outstanding principal as of the Petition Date plus $2,161,950 of accrued and unpaid interest. That is a secured lender figure, not a tort recovery figure.
Alleged, not decided: the underlying personal injury claims themselves. The documents treat them as claims to be resolved through a claims process. A claim in a bankruptcy class is an assertion, not an adjudicated finding of liability or injury.
The broader litigation background is covered in the hair relaxer litigation overview and the hair relaxer case study.
Where the claims stand procedurally
The claims sit inside a confirmed Chapter 11 plan, not a standalone multidistrict settlement. There is no MDL number in these documents, and no federal consolidation is described in them.
The operative instrument is the Third Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization of Revlon, Inc. and its Debtor Affiliates Pursuant to Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code, confirmed by the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order Confirming the Third Amended Joint Plan in Case No. 22-10760 (DSJ) in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York. An MDL (multidistrict litigation) is a consolidation of federal cases before one judge for pretrial coordination; a Chapter 11 plan is a reorganization that binds creditors whether or not they voted.
The disclosure statement set a voting deadline of 4:00 p.m. prevailing Eastern time on March 20, 2023, unless extended by the debtors. Holders with claims through nominees had to return ballots to those nominees earlier so master ballots could be validated.
The plan also required holders to understand a release effect: voting to accept the plan, opting into the releases, or failing to opt out where applicable “may result in the release of claims against the Released Parties.”
Key dates
- June 15, 2022 and June 16, 2022: Revlon, Inc. and debtor affiliates filed voluntary Chapter 11 petitions (Petition Date).
- December 19, 2022: the Chapter 11 Restructuring Support Agreement was entered into (Docket No. 1216, Exhibit A).
- December 23, 2022: the debtors filed the Joint Plan (Docket No. 1253), the Disclosure Statement (Docket No. 1254), and the disclosure statement motion (Docket No. 1255).
- February 21, 2023: date of the disclosure statement for the First Amended Joint Plan.
- March 20, 2023: plan voting deadline, 4:00 p.m. prevailing Eastern time, unless extended.
What this does not establish
The record supplied here does not state any hair relaxer settlement amount. It does not state a total value of the PI Settlement Fund. It does not state a per-claimant payment, an average recovery, or a claims rate.
It does not report a verdict, a jury finding, or an appellate ruling on any personal injury claim. It does not establish that any specific product caused any specific injury.
It does not identify a multidistrict litigation number or a JPML (Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation, the body that decides whether federal cases are consolidated) transfer order.
It does not confirm that the plan’s effective date occurred, only that a confirmation order was entered. Settlement figures published elsewhere and not traceable to these filings are outside this page’s scope.
For a comparable look at how settlement figures are documented in another product liability matter, see the Johnson & Johnson talc settlement amounts page.
Frequently asked questions
Are there confirmed hair relaxer settlement amounts?
No confirmed hair relaxer settlement amount appears in the Revlon, Inc. Chapter 11 documents reviewed for this page. The filings establish a PI Settlement Fund and PI Claims Distribution Procedures in Case No. 22-10760 (DSJ) in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of New York. They do not state fund totals or individual payments.
What is the PI Settlement Fund in the Revlon bankruptcy?
The PI Settlement Fund is a vehicle established by Article VI of the Third Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization of Revlon, Inc. and its Debtor Affiliates. The plan assigns it PI Claims Distribution Procedures and a PI Claims Administrator. The documents supplied do not state its dollar value.
How were personal injury claims treated in the Revlon Chapter 11 case?
Personal injury claims were classified as Talc Personal Injury Claims in Class 9(A) under the disclosure statement dated February 21, 2023. Holders of that class were entitled to vote on the plan. The voting deadline was 4:00 p.m. prevailing Eastern time on March 20, 2023, unless extended.
Does a Chapter 11 plan confirmation set the amount each claimant receives?
No. A Chapter 11 confirmation order approves a plan of reorganization, and the plan’s distribution procedures govern how claims are later processed and paid. In the Revlon, Inc. case, the plan establishes a PI Settlement Fund and distribution procedures. The court filings reviewed here do not fix per-claimant amounts.
Sources
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Revlon, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022” (link, accessed 2026-01-15)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Disclosure Statement for First Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization of Revlon, Inc. and Its Debtor Affiliates, Exhibit 99.2” (link, accessed 2026-01-15)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Third Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization of Revlon, Inc. and Its Debtor Affiliates, Exhibit 99.1” (link, accessed 2026-01-15)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order Confirming the Third Amended Joint Plan of Reorganization, Exhibit 2.1” (link, accessed 2026-01-15)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement