Product Liability
3M Recalls Scotch Thermal Laminators Over Fire Hazard Recall
3M recalled about 53,634 Scotch TL1302Z thermal laminators on October 15, 2026 for a fire hazard, with a full refund available from the company.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
3M Company recalled about 53,634 Scotch thermal laminators, model number TL1302Z, on October 15, 2026 because the units can overheat and pose a fire hazard, according to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. The remedy is a full refund. The St. Paul, Minnesota importer has received 63 reports of the laminators smoking, melting and overheating, including five reports of the units catching fire. No injuries have been reported.
At a glance
- The recall covers the Scotch thermal laminator, model number TL1302Z, under CPSC recall number 27-024.
- About 53,634 units are affected, sold online at Amazon.com from June 2024 through September 2026 for between $44 and $56.
- The units were manufactured in China and imported by 3M Company of St. Paul, Minnesota.
- 3M Company received 63 reports of smoking, melting and overheating, including five reports of fire and one report of minor property damage.
- The remedy is a full refund by check after the consumer registers and uploads a photograph of the laminator with the unplugged power cord cut.
What product is covered by the 3M Scotch thermal laminator recall?
The recall involves the Scotch thermal laminator, model number TL1302Z. CPSC describes the unit as light gray and white with gray accents, with the word “Scotch” printed in gray on the front. The laminating slot is approximately 13 inches wide, and the machine has a carrying handle on the right side when viewed from the front. The model number TL1302Z appears on a sticker on the bottom of the laminator and also on the product packaging.
What is established vs. what is alleged
The hazard itself is a CPSC finding published with the recall announcement, not a court ruling. CPSC states that the recalled thermal laminators can overheat and pose a fire hazard. That is the agency’s stated basis for the recall.
The incident record is a company report to the agency. CPSC states that 3M Company received 63 reports of the laminators smoking, melting and overheating, including five reports of the units catching fire and one report of minor property damage. CPSC states that no injuries have been reported.
These are reported incidents, not adjudicated claims. No court has made a finding of defect, negligence or liability in connection with these laminators, and the source record contains no litigation.
How does the recall remedy work?
CPSC states that consumers should stop using and unplug the recalled thermal laminators immediately and contact 3M Company to receive a full refund. Consumers are asked to fill out the online recall registration form, confirm that their laminator is included in the recall, and upload a photograph of the laminator with the unplugged power cord cut. The refund, in the form of a check, is mailed to the consumer upon receipt of the completed form and confirmation that the power cord has been cut.
CPSC states that consumers should dispose of the recalled laminator in accordance with local and state laws governing electronics recycling. Consumers can reach 3M Company toll-free at 800-772-4337 from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CT Monday through Friday, or visit the recall page on scotchbrand.com.
Where the recall stands procedurally
The recall is a regulatory action announced by CPSC on October 15, 2026, and carried as recall number 27-024. CPSC labels it a Fast Track Recall. The source record notes that federal law prohibits any person from selling products subject to a Commission ordered recall or a voluntary recall undertaken in consultation with the CPSC.
The record shows no federal court consolidation for this product. No MDL (multidistrict litigation, a procedure that centralizes related federal cases before one judge) number is associated with the laminators, no bellwether trial (a test case selected from a group of similar claims) has been scheduled, and no appeal is noted. For context on how product liability matters proceed once claims are filed, the site’s overview of the Johnson & Johnson talc litigation describes that procedural path, and the 3M Combat Arms earplug settlement covers a separate 3M product matter that is unrelated to this recall.
Key dates
- June 2024: The recalled laminators begin selling online at Amazon.com, per CPSC.
- September 2026: The selling period for the recalled laminators ends, per CPSC.
- October 15, 2026: CPSC announces recall number 27-024 for the Scotch TL1302Z thermal laminator.
What this does not establish
The record does not show any lawsuit, class action, MDL or court ruling involving the Scotch TL1302Z thermal laminator. It does not state whether any injury claim has been filed with 3M Company or CPSC. It does not state a cause of the overheating beyond the agency’s hazard description, does not identify a component failure, and does not report the outcome of any investigation into the five reported fires. It does not give a total dollar value of refunds, a rate of incidents relative to the 53,634 units, or the number of consumers who have registered. It does not describe any repair option, because the remedy listed is a refund only. Nothing in the record establishes liability or compensation for any individual consumer.
Frequently asked questions
How many Scotch thermal laminators were recalled?
CPSC states that the recall covers about 53,634 units of the Scotch thermal laminator, model number TL1302Z. The units were sold online at Amazon.com from June 2024 through September 2026 for between $44 and $56. The recall is carried as number 27-024.
What should an owner do with a recalled Scotch TL1302Z laminator?
CPSC states that consumers should stop using and unplug the recalled laminator immediately. Consumers then contact 3M Company, complete the online recall registration form, and upload a photograph of the laminator with the unplugged power cord cut. CPSC states the refund is mailed by check once the form and the confirmation of the cut cord are received.
Did the recalled laminators cause any injuries?
CPSC states that no injuries have been reported in connection with the recalled Scotch thermal laminators. The agency reports 63 reports of the units smoking, melting and overheating, including five reports of the laminators catching fire and one report of minor property damage. Those figures come from 3M Company’s reports to the agency.
Who imported the recalled laminators and where were they made?
CPSC identifies 3M Company, of St. Paul, Minnesota, as the importer of the recalled Scotch thermal laminator. The agency states the laminators were manufactured in China. The recall number is 27-024.
Is there a lawsuit over the Scotch thermal laminator recall?
The source record contains no lawsuit, class action, MDL or court ruling about the Scotch TL1302Z thermal laminator. CPSC’s announcement describes a recall and a refund remedy, not litigation. For background on how consumer product claims are organized in federal court, the site’s Hair relaxer litigation overview explains the MDL concept, and the J&J talc settlement amounts page discusses how settlements are structured in a separate matter.
Sources
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: “3M Company Recalls Scotch™ Thermal Laminators Due to Risk of Serious Injury or Death from Fire Hazard” (link, accessed 2026-05-18)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: “Recalls & Product Safety Warnings” (link, accessed 2026-05-18)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: “About Us” (link, accessed 2026-05-18)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: “Regulations, Laws & Standards” (link, accessed 2026-05-18)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: “Business & Manufacturing” (link, accessed 2026-05-18)
- U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission: “SaferProducts.gov” (link, accessed 2026-05-18)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement