IMAAVY Recall D-0016-2027 for Particulate Matter Case Study
IMAAVY (nipocalimab-aahu) Recall D-0016-2027 for Particulate Matter - the pharmaceutical lawsuits record. Drawn from 7 official documents, with the outcome each one establishes and what it leaves undecided.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Why this case matters
A recall of a single injectable product, in a modest quantity, for a defect as ordinary as particulate matter, can look like a routine entry in the FDA enforcement database. The interest in this matter lies less in its size than in what it exposes about the distance between a regulatory event and a legal claim. The documents supplied describe a firm-initiated recall by J&J INNOVATIVE MEDICINE of IMAAVY (nipocalimab-aahu) Injection, 185 mg/mL, assigned recall number D-0016-2027, dated September 23, 2026, classified Class II, for particulate matter, covering 49 vials. That is the entire regulatory footprint in the record before this desk.
For readers who follow pharmaceutical litigation, the reflexive question is whether a recall of this kind produces a mass tort, a class action or a product liability suit. The honest answer, on this record, is that nothing in the documents establishes that any claim has been filed, threatened, settled or adjudicated. The recall is a regulatory event. It is not a court order, not a verdict and not a settlement, and it should not be described as any of those. Understanding why that distinction matters, and what evidence a claim of this kind would actually require, is the purpose of this retrospective.
The official record
The record consists of federal regulatory materials. The enforcement entry for IMAAVY provides the recall number, the recalling firm, the product and strength, the quantity, the reason (particulate matter), the classification (Class II) and the date given in the summary, September 23, 2026.
The remaining documents describe the wider machinery around such an entry rather than the entry itself. The openFDA enforcement and labeling endpoints state that their data is unvalidated and that the agency’s records cannot be relied upon for medical decisions. The Drugs@FDA pages explain that the database typically holds the most recent labeling approved by the FDA, together with regulatory information and agency staff reviews, and note explicitly that the reports do not include applications or supplements approved by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research. The Federal Register agency page describes the FDA’s public health remit and provides access to agency rulemaking, including a listing of significant documents running back to 1994.
What the record does not contain is equally important. There is no complaint, no docket number, no court, no plaintiff group, no regulatory enforcement action beyond the recall classification, no warning letter and no litigation history for this product. Where this analysis says the record is silent, that silence should be read literally: the documents supplied do not address the point.
What the documents establish
The documents establish a narrow set of facts. A firm called J&J INNOVATIVE MEDICINE initiated a recall of 49 vials of IMAAVY (nipocalimab-aahu) Injection at 185 mg/mL. The reason given is particulate matter. The recall carries number D-0016-2027, is classified Class II, and is dated September 23, 2026, in the summary supplied for this case. The record does not state whether the recall was voluntary or mandated by FDA, does not state the distribution pattern, does not state how many patients received product from the affected vials, and does not state whether any adverse event was reported.
The record is also silent on causation and injury. Particulate matter in an injectable is the stated reason for the recall; whether any particular patient was exposed, and whether any exposure produced harm, is not addressed in any document supplied. A Class II designation is a classification of the recall, not a finding about any person’s injury, and it should not be read as one.
No figure for economic loss, medical costs, settlement value or damages appears anywhere in the documents. The record does not state a figure for any of these, and the absence is not an invitation to estimate. It is a statement about the limits of the evidence.
The wider documents establish context only. They confirm that the FDA maintains approval, labeling and enforcement datasets, that these datasets carry express disclaimers about validation, and that agency rulemaking is published through the Federal Register. None of these materials speaks to IMAAVY, to any claim arising from it, or to any party’s conduct.
How a claim of this kind is assessed
A pharmaceutical product liability claim generally proceeds on familiar theories: that a product was defectively manufactured, that its design was unreasonably dangerous, or that its warnings were inadequate. A recall for particulate matter sits most naturally in the first category, since contamination in a finished injectable is a manufacturing question rather than a question about the molecule itself. That framing is explanatory only. Nothing in the record indicates that any such theory has been pleaded in this matter, and readers should not treat a recalled lot as a legal conclusion.
The evidentiary path in matters of this kind runs through several linked questions. First, exposure: did the individual actually receive product from an affected lot, documented by lot number, date and administering facility? Second, injury: what harm followed, diagnosed and recorded in medical records rather than inferred from the recall notice? Third, causation: can the harm be linked to the particulate contamination rather than to the underlying condition or to another cause? Fourth, knowledge and notice: what the manufacturer knew about the contamination, and when, based on internal records, complaint logs and manufacturing data rather than on the recall notice alone. Fifth, regulatory posture: whether the recall was voluntary or mandated, and what FDA’s inspection and classification records show about the firm’s quality systems.
Each of those questions is answered by evidence outside the four corners of an enforcement entry. The entry identifies the product, the reason and the classification. It does not identify patients, lot-level distribution to specific facilities, or the internal timeline of the firm’s response. In this matter the record before this desk supplies none of that detail.
Group treatment is a separate question. A class action requires common questions that predominate over individual ones, and pharmaceutical contamination matters often turn on individual exposure and individual injury, which can cut against certification. Consolidation in a multidistrict proceeding is a procedural mechanism for discovery and pretrial management; it is not a finding of liability for any party. The record does not indicate that any such proceeding exists for IMAAVY.
Settlement is likewise a distinct category. A settlement is an agreed resolution, typically documented in a court filing, and it carries no admission unless the parties say so. No settlement appears in the record. The same is true of verdicts and court orders: none is documented here. Any future description of this matter should label it as a recall, a regulatory action, and nothing more until a filing exists.
What to check before relying on any figure
The first check is provenance. Any quantity attributed to this recall should trace to the enforcement entry: 49 vials, 185 mg/mL, recall number D-0016-2027, Class II. A number that cannot be traced to that entry, or to a court filing not present in this record, should be treated as unsupported.
The second check is category. Numbers that describe a recall (vials, strength, classification) are not interchangeable with numbers that describe damages, claimants or settlement funds. The record states no patient count, no injury count, no claim count and no monetary figure. Where a later report supplies such a number, the question to ask is what document it comes from: a complaint, a court order, an FDA inspection report, or an unsourced estimate.
The third check is status language. A recall classification is not a finding of fault. An allegation in a complaint is not an established fact. A settlement is not a verdict. An MDL is not a finding of liability. These distinctions are not pedantry; they determine what a reader may reasonably conclude.
The fourth check is the dataset’s own caveat. The openFDA endpoints state plainly that their contents are unvalidated and are not to be used for medical decisions. The Drugs@FDA pages note a coverage limit, excluding applications approved by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research. A reader drawing conclusions from these sources should account for both the validation disclaimer and the scope limitation.
The fifth check is the termination status. The enforcement entries supplied for other products show a lifecycle that runs from initiation through classification to termination, with a termination date recorded where a matter is closed. The record for IMAAVY does not state a termination date, so the current status of this recall beyond its classification cannot be described from these documents.
Taken together, the record supports a precise but limited account: a Class II recall of 49 vials of an injectable product for particulate matter, dated September 23, 2026, with no documented litigation, no documented injury findings and no documented financial figure. That is what the documents establish. Anything beyond it would be inference, and inference is not a substitute for the record.
Sources
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement