Pharmaceutical Lawsuits

HHS Enforcement Discretion Policy for 503A Peptide Compounding

HHS published a Federal Register notice on enforcement discretion for 503A compounding with certain peptide bulk drug substances, with comments due November 14, 2026.

Advertisement

Advertisement

An illustration of a Federal Register notice page beside a laboratory bench and a pharmacy compounding workspace.
An illustration of a Federal Register notice page beside a laboratory bench and a pharmacy compounding workspace.
On this page

Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.

The Department of Health and Human Services published a notice of availability on October 30, 2026, describing the Secretary of HHS’s enforcement policy for using certain peptide bulk drug substances in compounding under section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. The notice appears at 91 FR 68526. It applies while the 503A bulks list is developed through rulemaking.

At a glance

  • Document 2026-22192 is a Notice of availability published in the Federal Register on October 30, 2026 (91 FR 68526).
  • The issuing agency is the Department of Health and Human Services. The notice runs from page 68526 to page 68527.
  • The policy concerns use of certain peptide bulk drug substances in compounding under section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FD&C Act).
  • The notice is tied to Docket No. HHS-OASH-2026-0496, with a comment period on Regulations.gov that opened October 30, 2026 and closed November 14, 2026.
  • The notice states that the list of bulk drug substances that can be used in compounding under section 503A (the 503A bulks list) is being developed through rulemaking.

What the notice does

The document is an announcement, not a rule. HHS describes it as a notice of availability for an “Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances.”

Section 503A of the FD&C Act addresses compounding by state-licensed pharmacies and federal facilities. The statute includes conditions that compounded drugs must meet, and the 503A bulks list identifies bulk drug substances that can be used in that compounding. The list is built through notice and comment rulemaking.

While that listmaking is underway, the notice sets out how the Secretary of HHS will approach enforcement for certain peptide bulk drug substances used in 503A compounding. The announcement is two Federal Register pages long, so the policy itself is referenced rather than reproduced in extended detail.

The framing matters for readers following compounding policy. The notice does not announce a final bulks list, and the abstract does not state which peptide substances fall within the enforcement approach or what specific conditions attach. Those points sit in the underlying policy document that the notice makes available.

Where the notice stands procedurally

No judicial consolidation applies here. This is an HHS administrative publication in the Federal Register, not a lawsuit, and there is no MDL (multidistrict litigation, a procedure that centralizes related federal cases before one judge) or JPML (Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation) action connected to the notice in the source record.

The notice carries one docket, Docket No. HHS-OASH-2026-0496. The Docket ID for this specific document is HHS-OASH-2026-0496-0002.

A comment period on Regulations.gov opened on October 30, 2026, the same day as publication. The comment end date was November 14, 2026, and the docket record lists eight comments. Late comments were not allowed. The Federal Register entry lists a regulation identifier number, 0910-ZD94.

The notice has no stated effective date. The Federal Register record shows the document as published on October 30, 2026, with no separate effective date attached.

What is established vs. what is alleged

There are no allegations in this document. Nothing in the notice is contested as a factual assertion, and no party is accused of anything.

What is established by the record: HHS published the notice on October 30, 2026. The document number is 2026-22192. The citation is 91 FR 68526 through 68527. The agency is the Department of Health and Human Services. The action is labeled a notice of availability. The docket is HHS-OASH-2026-0496.

What is not in this record: the full text of the enforcement policy’s terms, the identity of the specific peptide bulk drug substances covered, and any statement about how enforcement will be applied in individual cases. Those questions would require the notice’s full text rather than the Federal Register summary fields.

Key dates

  • October 30, 2026: HHS published the notice at 91 FR 68526, and the comment period opened on Regulations.gov.
  • November 14, 2026: the comment period on Docket No. HHS-OASH-2026-0496-0002 ended.
  • November 3, 2026: the docket record showed eight comments and the Federal Register page view count stood at 1,508.

What this does not establish

The notice does not establish that any particular peptide bulk drug substance is permitted in compounding. It describes an enforcement approach taken while the 503A bulks list is developed through rulemaking, and it does not itself add a substance to that list.

The notice does not resolve the status of the 503A bulks list. The record states only that the list is being developed through rulemaking.

The notice does not state that it changes the legal requirements of section 503A. It announces how the Secretary of HHS will exercise enforcement discretion, which is different from amending the statute or adopting a final rule.

The record also does not show which compounding pharmacies, outsourcing facilities or patients the policy would touch in practice. The notice covers 503A compounding, and the source does not extend its description to other regulatory categories.

Finally, nothing in the record establishes an outcome for any comment submitted during the comment period. The docket shows eight comments and a closed comment window, and the source does not describe HHS’s response to them.

Frequently asked questions

What did HHS publish on October 30, 2026?

The Department of Health and Human Services published a notice of availability in the Federal Register at 91 FR 68526. The notice is titled “Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances,” and its document number is 2026-22192. It describes the Secretary of HHS’s enforcement policy for using certain peptide bulk drug substances in compounding under section 503A of the FD&C Act.

What is the 503A bulks list?

The 503A bulks list is the list of bulk drug substances that can be used in compounding under section 503A of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act. The October 30, 2026 HHS notice states that this list is being developed through rulemaking. The notice describes an enforcement policy that applies while that rulemaking proceeds.

When did the comment period close?

The Regulations.gov comment period for Docket No. HHS-OASH-2026-0496-0002 opened on October 30, 2026 and ended on November 14, 2026. The docket record lists 8 comments and shows that late comments were not allowed. The Federal Register entry does not list a separate effective date for the notice.

Is this notice part of a lawsuit or an MDL?

No. The October 30, 2026 publication is an HHS notice of availability in the Federal Register, not a court filing. The source record shows no MDL, no trial date and no JPML proceeding connected to it. It carries only the administrative docket HHS-OASH-2026-0496 and regulation identifier number 0910-ZD94.

Coverage of drug and device recalls and related regulatory and litigation records appears in other pages on this site, including the Apothecary Pharma LLC tirzepatide injection recall page and the Carolina Infusion LLC tri-mix injection recall page. Records of FDA-related laboratory and testing notices are collected on the page on HHS certified laboratories and instrumented initial testing.

Sources

  1. Federal Register (Health and Human Services Department): “Enforcement Discretion Policy Regarding 503A Compounding Using Certain Peptide Bulk Drug Substances” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
  2. Federal Register: “All Documents” API listing, ordered newest first (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
  3. Federal Register: “Documents of type Notice” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-03)

Related coverage

CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Source register

This article's claims are tied to the 6 sources listed in the Sources section above. Primary documents are used wherever available; secondary reporting is labelled as such.