Pharmaceutical Lawsuits
Depo-Provera Settlement Amounts Settlement
No Depo-Provera settlement amount appears in the cited SEC filings. See what the record and JPML docket actually show about this litigation.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
No Depo-Provera settlement amount is disclosed in the source documents reviewed here. The record supplied for this page consists of quarterly and annual earnings releases that Pfizer Inc. filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), plus none of them state a Depo-Provera settlement figure. The page below explains what those filings do and do not contain, and it does not substitute a number from another source.
At a glance
- The source documents are Pfizer Inc. earnings releases filed as exhibits with the SEC, covering results from full-year 2013 through second-quarter 2016.
- None of the reviewed releases states a settlement amount, a case count, or a litigation tally for Depo-Provera (medroxyprogesterone acetate).
- The filings do describe other settlements, including Pfizer’s Viagra patent litigation with Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. and its celecoxib (Celebrex) settlements with three generic manufacturers.
- The releases give corporate financial results, such as full-year 2013 reported revenues of $51.584 billion, but revenue totals are not settlement figures.
- This article relies only on the documents supplied, so it cannot state settlement amounts the filings do not contain.
What is established vs. what is alleged
Established in the record: Pfizer Inc. filed earnings releases with the SEC as Exhibit 99 for the periods ending December 31, 2013, June 29, 2014, September 28, 2014, December 31, 2014, June 28, 2015, and July 3, 2016. Those releases report revenues, adjusted income, earnings per share, guidance ranges, and business-segment results. The December 31, 2013 release reports full-year 2013 reported revenues of $51.584 billion and fourth-quarter 2013 reported revenues of $13.558 billion. That same release describes a settlement of Pfizer’s patent litigation against Teva Pharmaceuticals, USA Inc. over the use of Viagra to treat erectile dysfunction, and states that the terms of that settlement agreement are otherwise confidential.
Established in the record, second example: The June 29, 2014 release states that, after a March 2014 summary judgment by the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia invalidating Pfizer’s reissue patent (U.S. Patent No. RE44,048) for celecoxib, Pfizer entered into settlement agreements with Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., Watson Laboratories, Inc. (a subsidiary of Actavis plc), and Mylan Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Those agreements granted licenses to launch generic versions of celecoxib in the U.S. beginning in December 2014, or earlier under certain circumstances, and the release states the licenses may be royalty-bearing through the remaining term of the reissue patent.
Alleged, not decided: The filings do not address Depo-Provera product-liability allegations at all. Any claim that Depo-Provera caused a particular injury is an allegation in litigation, not a finding recorded in these documents.
Why the SEC filings do not carry Depo-Provera settlement amounts
These are earnings releases, not litigation reports. Their purpose is to state quarterly and annual financial results and forward guidance. A company discloses a settlement figure in this kind of exhibit only when the figure is material to reported results or is specifically called out, and the reviewed releases call out only the Viagra, celecoxib, and Protonix matters. A reader looking for a Depo-Provera settlement amount will not find one in these pages, because the documents do not discuss the product. The absence of a figure in these filings is not evidence that no settlement exists; it means the supplied record does not report one.
Where the Depo-Provera claims stand procedurally
The source documents do not identify any Depo-Provera multidistrict litigation, MDL number, transferee court, bellwether trial schedule, or Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation (JPML) docket. An MDL is a consolidation of related federal cases before one judge for pretrial proceedings, and a bellwether trial is an early case chosen to test how a group of claims plays out. Because none of the supplied documents mentions a Depo-Provera MDL or any JPML ruling, this page cannot state a procedural status, a case count, or a trial date from this record. For background on how the claims are organized, see the Depo-Provera meningioma litigation overview.
Key dates
- January 28, 2014: Pfizer issues its fourth-quarter and full-year 2013 earnings release.
- March 2014: The U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia grants summary judgment invalidating Pfizer’s celecoxib reissue patent, U.S. Patent No. RE44,048.
- May 2014: The FDA approves the first generic versions of celecoxib, per the June 29, 2014 release.
- June 29, 2014: Date of the quarter covered by Pfizer’s second-quarter 2014 earnings release.
- July 29, 2014: Pfizer issues its second-quarter 2014 earnings release.
- September 28, 2014: Date of the quarter covered by Pfizer’s third-quarter 2014 earnings release.
- October 28, 2014: Pfizer issues its third-quarter 2014 earnings release.
- December 31, 2014: Close of the fiscal year covered by Pfizer’s full-year 2014 earnings release.
- January 27, 2015: Pfizer issues its fourth-quarter and full-year 2014 earnings release.
- June 28, 2015: Date of the quarter covered by Pfizer’s second-quarter 2015 earnings release.
- July 28, 2015: Pfizer issues its second-quarter 2015 earnings release.
- July 3, 2016: Date of the quarter covered by Pfizer’s second-quarter 2016 earnings release, issued August 2, 2016.
What this does not establish
The record does not state any Depo-Provera settlement amount, settlement range, or average payout. It does not give a count of filed or pending Depo-Provera cases. It does not identify an MDL number, a transferee court, a JPML docket, a bellwether trial date, or an appeal. It does not contain any court order, verdict, regulatory action, or recall concerning Depo-Provera. It does not establish that any Depo-Provera settlement has been reached, announced, or approved. The settlement figures it does contain belong to other matters (Viagra, celecoxib, and Protonix) and cannot be transferred to Depo-Provera. For a document-based review of how a related litigation record is assembled, see the Depo-Provera case study.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Depo-Provera settlement amount?
No Depo-Provera settlement amount appears in the Pfizer Inc. earnings releases reviewed for this page, which were filed with the SEC between 2014 and 2016. Those releases discuss other settlements but do not mention Depo-Provera. A settlement figure would need a court record, a company disclosure, or an announced agreement to be reported here, and none of the supplied documents provides one.
How many Depo-Provera lawsuits are pending?
The source documents do not state a count of Depo-Provera lawsuits. They identify no multidistrict litigation, no Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation docket, and no case tally for the product. A reliable case count would have to come from a court docket or a JPML order, neither of which is in the supplied record.
Is there a Depo-Provera MDL?
The reviewed Pfizer Inc. SEC filings do not identify a Depo-Provera MDL, a transferee court, or a JPML ruling. An MDL is a federal consolidation of related cases for pretrial proceedings. Because the documents are silent on the point, this page does not state that a consolidation exists or does not exist.
What settlements do the Pfizer filings actually describe?
The Pfizer Inc. releases describe a settlement of Viagra patent litigation with Teva Pharmaceuticals, USA Inc., whose terms the December 31, 2013 release calls otherwise confidential, and celecoxib (Celebrex) license settlements with Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., Watson Laboratories, Inc., and Mylan Pharmaceuticals, Inc., reported in the June 29, 2014 release. They also reference a 2013 Protonix patent-infringement settlement with Teva Pharmaceuticals Industries Ltd. and Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. None of these figures relates to Depo-Provera.
Can a settlement amount from another drug case be applied to Depo-Provera?
No. Each settlement reflects its own claims, parties, and terms, and the Viagra and celecoxib figures described in the Pfizer Inc. filings belong to different products and different legal theories. The supplied documents give no basis for transferring any figure to Depo-Provera. Readers comparing product-liability records can review the site’s Elmiron vision litigation material for a separate example of how those records are documented.
Sources
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Pfizer Reports Fourth-Quarter and Full-Year 2013 Results; Provides 2014 Financial Guidance” (link, accessed 2025-06-01)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Pfizer Reports Second-Quarter 2014 Results” (link, accessed 2025-06-01)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Pfizer Reports Second-Quarter 2015 Results” (link, accessed 2025-06-01)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Pfizer Reports Fourth-Quarter and Full-Year 2014 Results; Provides 2015 Financial Guidance” (link, accessed 2025-06-01)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Pfizer Reports Third-Quarter 2014 Results” (link, accessed 2025-06-01)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission: “Pfizer Reports Second-Quarter 2016 Results” (link, accessed 2025-06-01)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement