Personal Injury
OSHA Extends OMB Approval Comment Period for Powered Platforms
OSHA seeks comments by October 2, 2026 on extending OMB approval of the Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance standard's paperwork requirements.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has asked the public to comment on a proposal to extend Office of Management and Budget (OMB) approval of the information collection requirements in the Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance standard. OSHA published the request as a notice in the Federal Register on August 3, 2026, at 91 FR 48949. Comments must be submitted by October 2, 2026.
At a glance
- The notice carries Federal Register document number 2026-15672 and appears at 91 FR 48949 to 48951.
- OSHA’s stated action is a request for public comments on extending OMB approval of the standard’s paperwork requirements.
- The comment deadline is October 2, 2026, whether comments are postmarked, sent, or received by that date.
- The standard at issue is 29 CFR 1910.66, and the OMB control number is 1218-0121.
- The docket is Docket No. OSHA-2010-0048, and the notice lists six supporting documents in that docket.
What is the Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance standard?
The Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance standard sets the federal requirements for powered platforms used to work on building exteriors, and it is codified at 29 CFR 1910.66. The Federal Register notice identifies the standard by that citation and by the OMB control number 1218-0121, which is the identifier OMB assigns to the collection of information the standard requires.
The notice is specifically about the information collection requirements inside that standard, which are the paperwork obligations the standard imposes rather than its design or operating rules. OSHA describes its action as a request for public comments on a proposal to extend OMB approval of those requirements. Under the Paperwork Reduction Act framework reflected in the notice’s OMB control number, federal agencies periodically seek renewed approval for collections of information, and this notice is OSHA’s public comment step in that process.
What is established vs. what is alleged
Nothing in the notice is an allegation or a disputed claim. It is a regulatory notice published by an agency of the U.S. Department of Labor, and the facts it states are the agency’s own description of its action.
What is established by the record:
- OSHA published the notice in the Federal Register on August 3, 2026, with an action line reading “Request for public comments.”
- The notice’s abstract states that OSHA “solicits public comments concerning the proposal to extend the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) approval of the information collection requirements specified in the Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance standard.”
- The notice appears in the table of contents under the subject “Agency Information Collection Activities; Proposals, Submissions, and Approvals.”
- The notice has a start page of 48949 and an end page of 48951, a page length of three, in volume 91 of the Federal Register.
What is not established: the notice does not itself extend OMB approval, does not set out a final decision, and does not describe the substantive contents of the information collection. It is a comment solicitation, and the agency’s next step is not stated in the record summarized here.
Where the paperwork review stands procedurally
The notice is not litigation, and no court is involved. It is an agency information collection notice, published as document 2026-15672 in the Federal Register on August 3, 2026, and assigned to Docket No. OSHA-2010-0048. As of the notice’s publication date, the matter sits at the public comment stage: OSHA has proposed extending OMB approval and has opened a comment window that closes October 2, 2026.
The docket record shows one document in Docket No. OSHA-2010-0048, identified as OSHA-2010-0048-0014, with a comment period running from August 3, 2026, to October 3, 2026. The docket’s listed supporting documents number six, including a “Supporting Statement for the Information Collection Requirements of the Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance Standard (29 CFR 1910.66); Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Control No. 1218-0121 (August 2026).” Earlier supporting statements in the same docket are dated October 2023 and April 2017, along with additional background documents.
Readers who want context on how OSHA runs similar paperwork renewals can review the overhead and gantry cranes standard extension notice and the mechanical power press standard extension notice, which follow the same information collection format. These are regulatory matters, distinct from civil claims such as commercial truck collision claims.
Key dates
- August 3, 2026: OSHA published Federal Register document 2026-15672, “Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance Standard; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements,” at 91 FR 48949, opening the comment period.
- October 2, 2026: Deadline for comments, which must be postmarked, sent, or received by that date.
- October 3, 2026: The docket record lists this as the comment end date for OSHA-2010-0048-0014.
- October 2023: Date of an earlier supporting statement for the same information collection in the docket.
- April 2017: Date of an earlier supporting statement for the same information collection in the docket.
What this does not establish
The notice does not show that OMB approval has been extended, denied, or modified. It does not state how many comments OSHA has received; the docket record shows a comment count of one as of the data snapshot, but the notice itself says nothing about comment volume. It does not describe the estimated burden hours, the number of respondents, or the cost of the collection, because those details are not in the notice text summarized here.
The notice also does not create any injury claim, cause of action, or compensation right, and it does not address enforcement of the standard against any employer. It does not identify any building, platform, worker, or incident. It does not change the text of 29 CFR 1910.66. Nothing in the record indicates when OSHA will act on the comments or when OMB will decide on the extension request.
Frequently asked questions
What is OSHA asking for in the August 3, 2026 notice?
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration is soliciting public comments on its proposal to extend Office of Management and Budget approval of the information collection requirements in the Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance standard at 29 CFR 1910.66. The notice is Federal Register document 2026-15672, published at 91 FR 48949. The action line reads “Request for public comments.”
When is the comment deadline for the powered platforms notice?
Comments must be submitted by October 2, 2026. The notice states that comments must be postmarked, sent, or received by that date. The docket record for OSHA-2010-0048-0014 lists a comment end date of October 3, 2026.
Is this notice the same as a final rule or a court decision?
No. Federal Register document 2026-15672 is an agency information collection notice from OSHA, published on August 3, 2026, in the “Agency Information Collection Activities; Proposals, Submissions, and Approvals” category. It solicits comments on extending OMB approval of paperwork requirements. It is not a rule, a ruling, a verdict, or a settlement.
Which OMB control number and docket apply to the powered platforms standard?
The OMB control number is 1218-0121, and the docket is Docket No. OSHA-2010-0048. The notice identifies the standard as 29 CFR 1910.66. The docket lists six supporting documents, including an August 2026 supporting statement for the same collection.
Sources
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Powered Platforms for Building Maintenance Standard; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements” (link, accessed 2026-11-04)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “All Documents” (link, accessed 2026-11-04)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Agencies” (link, accessed 2026-11-04)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Documents of type Rule” (link, accessed 2026-11-04)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Documents of type Notice” (link, accessed 2026-11-04)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Documents of type Proposed Rule” (link, accessed 2026-11-04)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement