Personal Injury
OSHA Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard Lawsuit
OSHA seeks comments by August 24, 2026 on extending OMB approval of the paperwork requirements in the Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard, 29 CFR 1910.179.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is requesting public comments on a proposal to extend the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) approval of the information collection requirements in the Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard. OSHA published the notice in the Federal Register on June 25, 2026, at 91 FR 38457. Comments must be submitted by August 24, 2026.
At a glance
- The document is a Notice, not a rule, published by OSHA at 91 FR 38457 on June 25, 2026.
- The action is described as a “Request for public comments.”
- The information collection at issue carries OMB Control No. 1218-0224 and covers the Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard at 29 CFR 1910.179.
- The comment period closes August 24, 2026, with comments postmarked, sent, or received by that date.
- The docket is Docket No. OSHA-2010-0023, and the Regulations.gov document identifier is OSHA-2010-0023-0013.
What the OSHA notice actually asks for
The Federal Register abstract states that OSHA solicits public comments concerning the proposal to extend OMB’s approval of the information collection requirements specified in the Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard. The action line reads, in the agency’s own words, “Request for public comments.”
The notice runs from page 38457 to page 38458 of volume 91 of the Federal Register, a page length of two. The title is “Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements.” The table of contents lists it under “Agency Information Collection Activities; Proposals, Submissions, and Approvals.”
The regulations.gov record for the docket lists a comment start date of June 25, 2026 and a comment end date of August 25, 2026. The Federal Register dates field states the earlier controlling language: comments must be submitted, postmarked, sent, or received, by August 24, 2026. The regulations.gov entry also records that late comments are not allowed and shows a comment count of zero at the time of the record.
What is established vs. what is alleged
This article involves no allegations and no disputed facts of the kind found in litigation coverage. The source material is a single agency notice, and its contents are the agency’s own statements of what it proposes and what it invites.
What is established by the notice itself: OSHA issued a document numbered 2026-12758, of type Notice, with a publication date of June 25, 2026 and a citation of 91 FR 38457. The agency identifies the information collection as OMB Control No. 1218-0224 and the underlying standard as 29 CFR 1910.179. The agency sets a comment deadline of August 24, 2026.
What is not established by the notice: any final agency decision on the extension. A request for comments is a procedural step that invites input. It is not an approval, not a denial, and not a finding about workplace safety. The notice states no effective date; the effective date field in the Federal Register record is empty.
Where the claims stand procedurally
There is no litigation here and no federal court consolidation. There is no MDL, meaning a multi-district litigation, a procedure that consolidates related federal lawsuits before one judge; a JPML order, meaning a decision by the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation on whether to group cases; or a bellwether trial, meaning a test case chosen from a group to gauge how similar cases may resolve. None of those apply to an agency information collection notice.
The procedural posture is an open comment period on a Paperwork Reduction Act information collection request. The docket is Docket No. OSHA-2010-0023, maintained on regulations.gov, and the individual document within it is OSHA-2010-0023-0013. The docket lists five supporting statements prepared for prior information collection requests: June 2026, December 2023, August 2020, April 2017, and June 2010. The June 2026 supporting statement is the most recent and is identified as covering the same standard and the same OMB control number.
The notice appears in volume 91 of the Federal Register and carries no corrections in the record, and the record does not identify it as a correction of an earlier document.
How a paperwork extension works
Federal agencies that collect information from the public, including recordkeeping and reporting requirements, generally must obtain OMB approval under the Paperwork Reduction Act. That approval is time limited, so agencies periodically ask OMB to extend it. The Federal Register notice is the public step in that cycle: the agency describes the collection and invites comments before the approval is extended.
For readers coming from a workplace injury context, the distinction matters. The notice concerns the paperwork and information collection elements of the standard, not a reopening of the crane safety requirements themselves. Readers researching injury claims arising from crane work will find that this document does not address liability, causation, compensation, or any individual incident. Background on how workplace exposure standards are handled in agency notices appears in the site’s coverage of the cadmium in general industry standard extension and the mechanical power press standard extension, both of which follow the same information collection format.
Key dates
- June 25, 2026: OSHA publishes the notice at 91 FR 38457, opening the comment period.
- August 24, 2026: Deadline for comments, which must be postmarked, sent, or received by this date according to the Federal Register dates field.
- August 25, 2026: Comment end date recorded in the regulations.gov docket entry for OSHA-2010-0023-0013.
- June 2026: Date of the most recent supporting statement listed in the docket, prepared for the information collection request tied to OMB Control No. 1218-0224.
What this does not establish
The notice does not state that OMB has approved, denied, or modified the extension. It does not announce a change to the text of 29 CFR 1910.179 or to any crane safety requirement. It does not state an effective date. It does not describe new reporting or recordkeeping obligations, burden hours, cost estimates, or the number of employers affected; those details are not in the source record for this article. It does not address any injury, citation, enforcement action, lawsuit, or claim for compensation. It does not indicate whether comments already filed have been reviewed or what weight they will receive.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OSHA Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard notice about?
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration published a Notice at 91 FR 38457 on June 25, 2026, requesting public comments on a proposal to extend OMB approval of the information collection requirements in the Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard at 29 CFR 1910.179. The collection carries OMB Control No. 1218-0224. The document is a comment request, not a final rule.
When is the deadline to comment on the Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard notice?
The Federal Register dates field states that comments must be submitted, postmarked, sent, or received by August 24, 2026. The regulations.gov docket entry for OSHA-2010-0023-0013 records a comment end date of August 25, 2026 and does not allow late comments. Commenters should treat the Federal Register language as the controlling statement and check the docket before filing.
Does this notice change any crane safety rule?
The notice concerns extension of OMB approval for the information collection requirements of 29 CFR 1910.179, as described in the agency’s abstract. The source record does not announce any amendment to the standard’s substantive requirements. No effective date appears in the Federal Register record for document 2026-12758.
Where is the OSHA Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard docket filed?
The docket is Docket No. OSHA-2010-0023, and the document within it is identified as OSHA-2010-0023-0013. The docket lists five supporting statements for prior information collection requests, dated June 2026, December 2023, August 2020, April 2017, and June 2010. The June 2026 statement is the most recent entry.
Sources
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Overhead and Gantry Cranes Standard; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “All Documents” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Agencies” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Documents of type Rule” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Documents of type Notice” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “Documents of type Proposed Rule” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement