Personal Injury
OSHA Outreach Training Program Forms Lawsuit
OSHA seeks comments by August 10, 2026 on extending OMB approval of the OSHA Outreach Training Program and OSHA Training Institute Education Centers forms.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration published a notice in the Federal Register on June 10, 2026, requesting public comments on a proposal to extend Office of Management and Budget approval of the information collection requirements in the OSHA Outreach Training Program and the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program Forms. Comments are due August 10, 2026. The notice does not change any training requirement.
At a glance
- The notice appears at 91 FR 35273, document number 2026-11553, published June 10, 2026, in the Federal Register.
- The action is labeled “Request for public comments,” and comments must be postmarked, sent, or received by August 10, 2026.
- The information collection at issue carries Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Control No. 1218-0262.
- The docket is Docket No. OSHA-2009-0022, titled “Requirements for the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program and the OSHA Outreach Training Program.”
- The notice runs from page 35273 to page 35274, a page length of 2.
What the June 2026 notice actually asks for
The document is a Paperwork Reduction Act notice. Under that statute, a federal agency that collects information from the public must periodically seek OMB approval of the collection, and it publishes a notice inviting comment before the approval is extended. OSHA’s June 10, 2026 notice states that the agency “solicits public comments concerning the proposal to extend” OMB approval of the information collection requirements specified in the two sets of program forms.
The two programs named are the OSHA Outreach Training Program and the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program. The forms at issue are the paperwork those programs use. The notice’s own abstract describes the subject as the information collection requirements “specified in” those forms, not as the substance of the training standards themselves.
The filing is a notice rather than a rule. It carries no effective date in the Federal Register record and states no regulatory text. The agency’s stated action is a request for public comments.
What is established vs. what is alleged
Nothing here is alleged. This is an agency notice, not a complaint, a lawsuit, or an enforcement proceeding, and there is no party asserting misconduct against another party.
What is established by the record is procedural: OSHA published a request for comments on extending OMB approval of an information collection, assigned it Document No. 2026-11553, placed it in Docket No. OSHA-2009-0022, and set a comment deadline of August 10, 2026. The notice also identifies the collection by OMB Control No. 1218-0262.
What the record does not contain is any agency finding about a workplace, any citation issued to an employer, any determination about the adequacy of Outreach Training Program instruction, or any decision on whether the approval will be extended. Those matters are outside the four corners of this notice.
Where the paperwork approval stands procedurally
There is no court proceeding, no multidistrict litigation (MDL, a consolidation of related federal cases before one judge), and no judicial review attached to this notice. The procedural posture is administrative: a comment period on a proposed extension of an OMB approval, tracked in Docket No. OSHA-2009-0022 on Regulations.gov.
The Regulations.gov docket record lists the document as OSHA-2009-0022-0030. It shows a comment window that opened June 10, 2026 and closed August 11, 2026, and it records 2 comments as of the docket data current at the time the record was retrieved. The Federal Register entry separately states that comments must be submitted, postmarked, sent, or received, by August 10, 2026.
The docket record lists 20 supporting documents. Ten of them are named in the docket data, including:
- “Supporting Statement for the Information Collection Requirements in the OSHA Outreach Training Program and OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program Forms; Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Control No. 1218-0262” (June 2026)
- “Statement of Compliance with Outreach Training Program Requirements”
- “OSH Act Sec. 21 - Training and Employee Education”
- “Supporting Statement for the Information Collection Requirements in the OSHA Outreach Program and OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program Data Collection, Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Control No. 1218-0262” (December 2023)
- Three 2020 Outreach Training Program Reports, covering General Industry, Maritime, and Disaster Site
- “Statement of Compliance - Outreach Training Program 2020”
- “Supporting Statement for the Information Collection Requirements of the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program Data Collection and OSHA Outreach Training Program Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Control No. 1218-0262” (May 2020)
- “Sec 21 - Training and Employee Education”
Key dates
- June 10, 2026: The Federal Register publishes the OSHA notice at 91 FR 35273, Document No. 2026-11553, opening the comment period.
- August 10, 2026: The deadline stated in the notice for comments to be postmarked, sent, or received.
- August 11, 2026: The comment end date recorded in the Regulations.gov docket entry for OSHA-2009-0022-0030.
What this does not establish
The record does not show whether OMB approved, denied, or modified the extension request. It does not state how OSHA will weigh the comments received, and it does not disclose the content of the 2 comments logged in the docket.
The record also does not describe the substance of the Outreach Training Program curriculum, the number of trainers or students involved, or the burden hours associated with the forms; those details would sit in the supporting statements listed in the docket, not in the notice text reproduced here. Nothing in the notice addresses injury claims, compensation, employer liability, or the outcome of any individual worker’s situation.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OSHA notice published June 10, 2026?
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration published Document No. 2026-11553 at 91 FR 35273 on June 10, 2026. It requests public comments on a proposal to extend Office of Management and Budget approval of the information collection requirements in the OSHA Outreach Training Program and the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program Forms. The stated comment deadline is August 10, 2026.
Which OMB control number and docket apply to these OSHA training forms?
The information collection is identified by OMB Control No. 1218-0262. The Federal Register notice places it in Docket No. OSHA-2009-0022, titled “Requirements for the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program and the OSHA Outreach Training Program.” The Regulations.gov docket entry for the notice is OSHA-2009-0022-0030.
Does this notice change the OSHA Outreach Training Program requirements?
The notice’s stated action is a request for public comments on extending an existing paperwork approval. It does not announce new training requirements, a new standard, or an amendment to the Outreach Training Program. The document carries no effective date in the Federal Register record.
How many comments did the docket record show?
The Regulations.gov docket data for OSHA-2009-0022-0030 recorded 2 comments, with a comment window that opened June 10, 2026 and a comment end date of August 11, 2026. The Federal Register notice itself states a submission deadline of August 10, 2026. The record does not describe what those comments said.
Related OSHA paperwork notices
CollectiveClaim.us tracks other Department of Labor information collection notices in the same format, including the mechanical power press standard OMB extension notice and the overhead and gantry cranes standard OMB extension notice. Readers comparing how agencies frame enforcement changes can review the rescission of coordinated enforcement regulations.
Sources
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “OSHA Outreach Training Program and the OSHA Training Institute Education Centers Program Forms; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements” (link, accessed 2026-11-05)
- Federal Register (Office of the Federal Register): “All Documents” API index, listing current document metadata for the Federal Register (link, accessed 2026-11-05)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement