Personal Injury
NHTSA Safety Research Portfolio Public Meeting Lawsuit
NHTSA will hold its Safety Research Portfolio public meeting December 1-2, 2026, with an ADS workshop, per Federal Register notice 2026-20516.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration will hold its Safety Research Portfolio public meeting on December 1-2, 2026, in person, according to Federal Register document 2026-20516 published October 7, 2026. The same notice states that an Automated Driving Systems (ADS) Workshop will convene on the afternoon of December 1, 2026. Registration for the public meeting must be completed no later than November 24, 2026.
At a glance
- The notice is Federal Register document 2026-20516, citation 91 FR 64222, published October 7, 2026, in Docket No. NHTSA-2026-1618.
- The public meeting runs December 1-2, 2026, and is in person only; the notice says the event will not be live streamed.
- Panel presentations will be recorded and posted on the NHTSA website after the event, but the ADS Workshop will not be recorded.
- The public docket remains open for comments for 90 days after the meeting, until March 2, 2027.
- The meeting features panel presentations and research posters from the Offices of Vehicle Safety Research and Behavioral Safety Research.
What the notice actually announces
The document is a notice of a public meeting issued by the Department of Transportation and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Its stated purpose is to provide updates and insights into ongoing activities across NHTSA’s safety research programs.
Presenters come from two NHTSA offices: the Office of Vehicle Safety Research and the Office of Behavioral Safety Research. The format combines panel presentations with research posters. Each research panel concludes with a period for the audience to ask technical questions about the materials presented.
Visual slides used in presentations and posters will be placed in the public docket after the meeting. Recordings of the panel presentations will be published on the NHTSA website. Because the event is in person and not live streamed, remote attendance is not described in the notice.
What is established vs. what is alleged
This row involves no allegations and no adversarial claims. The Federal Register notice is an agency announcement of a scheduled meeting, and everything described here is stated in that notice as a planned event.
Established by the document: the meeting dates, the registration deadline, the two participating offices, the poster and panel format, the recording policy, the ADS Workshop scheduling, and the docket comment window. There is no dispute, no court, and no private party involved.
Not established by the document: any research finding, any safety conclusion, any regulatory position on automated driving systems, or any change in federal motor vehicle safety standards. The notice describes a meeting, not an outcome.
The Automated Driving Systems Workshop
On the afternoon of Tuesday, December 1, 2026, the agency will convene an Automated Driving Systems Workshop organized by the Office of Automation Safety. The notice places the workshop on the first day of the two-day public meeting.
The notice states plainly that the ADS Workshop will not be recorded. No agenda items, participant list or technical scope for the workshop appears in the document.
Where the meeting stands procedurally
The meeting is a scheduled agency event, not a litigation or enforcement matter. It is docketed as Docket No. NHTSA-2026-1618, and the related comment docket identifier listed by the Federal Register is NHTSA-2026-1618-0001.
The notice sets the comment window as 90 days following the public meeting, ending March 2, 2027. Federal Register docket data recorded for the document lists a comment end date of April 10, 2027, which differs from the March 2, 2027 date stated in the notice’s own Dates field; readers relying on a deadline should confirm it against the current docket entry at Regulations.gov.
Registration for the public meeting must be completed no later than November 24, 2026. The notice says the meeting will be held in person.
Key dates
- October 7, 2026: Federal Register document 2026-20516 publishes at 91 FR 64222.
- November 24, 2026: deadline to complete registration for the public meeting.
- December 1, 2026: first day of the Safety Research Portfolio public meeting; the ADS Workshop is held that afternoon.
- December 2, 2026: second day of the Safety Research Portfolio public meeting.
- March 2, 2027: end of the 90-day comment window stated in the notice.
What this does not establish
The notice does not announce any rulemaking, proposed rule, final rule, enforcement action, recall, settlement or court proceeding. It does not state that NHTSA has adopted a position on automated driving systems performance, and it does not describe the contents of any panel or poster.
The document does not name a venue, an address, a cost, a capacity limit, a registration method or a public attendance procedure beyond the November 24, 2026 deadline. It does not state how long recordings will remain available or where on the NHTSA website they will be posted.
The document does not resolve the difference between the March 2, 2027 date in its Dates field and the April 10, 2027 comment end date recorded in the docket listing. Materials referenced for general background, such as pages on commercial truck collision claims or coordinated enforcement regulations, are separate topics and are not part of this notice.
Frequently asked questions
When is the NHTSA Safety Research Portfolio public meeting?
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration will hold the Safety Research Portfolio public meeting on December 1-2, 2026, according to Federal Register document 2026-20516 published October 7, 2026. Registration must be completed no later than November 24, 2026. The Automated Driving Systems Workshop is scheduled for the afternoon of December 1, 2026.
Will the NHTSA meeting be streamed or recorded?
Federal Register document 2026-20516 states that the public meeting will not be live streamed. Panel presentations will be recorded and made available on the NHTSA website after the event. The notice also states that the Automated Driving Systems Workshop will not be recorded.
Who presents at the NHTSA Safety Research Portfolio meeting?
Presenters come from two National Highway Traffic Safety Administration offices, the Office of Vehicle Safety Research and the Office of Behavioral Safety Research, per Federal Register document 2026-20516. The program features panel presentations and research posters. Each research panel concludes with time for the audience to ask technical questions about the presented materials.
When do comments on the NHTSA docket close?
The notice for Federal Register document 2026-20516 states that the docket for the Safety Research Portfolio public meeting and the Automated Driving Systems Workshop will remain open for comments for 90 days after the meeting, until March 2, 2027. The Federal Register docket listing for the same document records a comment end date of April 10, 2027. Readers should check the current docket entry on Regulations.gov to confirm the operative deadline.
Will the slides and posters be published?
Federal Register document 2026-20516 states that visual slides used in presentations and posters will be made available in the public docket following the public meeting. Recordings of the panel presentations will be made available on the NHTSA website after the event. The notice does not give a posting date for either.
Sources
- Federal Register (Transportation Department, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration): “NHTSA Safety Research Portfolio Public Meeting: Fall 2026, and Automated Driving Systems Workshop” (link, accessed 2026-11-05)
- Regulations.gov (NHTSA): “NHTSA Safety Research Portfolio Public Meeting: Fall 2026” docket entry NHTSA-2026-1618-0001 (link, accessed 2026-11-05)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement