Personal Injury

OSHA Mechanical Power Press Standard Lawsuit

OSHA seeks comments by October 19, 2026, on extending OMB approval of Mechanical Power Press Standard paperwork, per a Federal Register notice published August 19, 2026.

Advertisement

Advertisement

An illustration of a mechanical power press workstation beside a stylized federal register document and a public comment form.
An illustration of a mechanical power press workstation beside a stylized federal register document and a public comment form.
On this page

Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is requesting public comments on a proposal to extend Office of Management and Budget (OMB) approval of the paperwork requirements in the Mechanical Power Press Standard. OSHA published the request in the Federal Register on August 19, 2026, at 91 FR 53665. Comments must be submitted by October 19, 2026.

At a glance

  • OSHA published the notice as document 2026-16890 in the Federal Register on August 19, 2026, at 91 FR 53665 through 53666.
  • The agency describes the action as a “Request for public comments” on extending OMB approval of the standard’s information collection requirements.
  • The comment deadline stated in the notice is October 19, 2026, with comments postmarked, sent, or received by that date.
  • The notice sits in Docket No. OSHA-2010-0026, titled “Mechanical Power Presses,” which lists nine supporting documents.
  • The most recent supporting statement in the docket is dated August 2026 and addresses 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1) under OMB Control No. 1218-0229.

What is the Mechanical Power Press Standard paperwork notice about?

The notice concerns the information collection requirements attached to the Mechanical Power Press Standard, not the machine safety requirements themselves. OSHA’s abstract describes the proposal as an extension of OMB approval of the information collection requirements specified in the Mechanical Power Press Standard. This is a Paperwork Reduction Act step: federal agencies must periodically ask OMB to renew approval for collections of information that impose recordkeeping or reporting burdens on the public.

The Federal Register classifies the document as a Notice under the subject “Agency Information Collection Activities; Proposals, Submissions, and Approvals.” It runs two pages, from page 53665 to page 53666 of volume 91. The notice carries no effective date and no regulatory identifier number.

The docket’s supporting statements identify the covered provision as 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1), which concerns mechanical power presses, and connect it to OMB Control No. 1218-0229. The records also show an earlier control number, 1218-0220, attached to a February 2024 supporting statement. One docket entry from April 2015 references a separate collection at 29 CFR 1910.217(g) under OMB Control No. 1218-0070, concerning reports of injuries to employees operating mechanical power presses.

What is established vs. what is alleged

Nothing in this notice is an allegation, a dispute between parties, or a court claim. It is a regulatory action by an agency: OSHA has formally proposed to extend OMB approval and opened a comment period. The established facts are the publication date, the citation, the comment deadline, the docket number, and the stated purpose.

What the record does not establish at this point is any outcome. The notice does not state that OMB approval has been granted or renewed, and it does not state that the proposal has been withdrawn or denied. It also does not announce any change to the substance of the Mechanical Power Press Standard. As of the notice’s publication on August 19, 2026, the action is a request for comment, and the comment period runs through October 19, 2026.

Where the paperwork extension stands procedurally

The request is at the public comment stage in Docket No. OSHA-2010-0026. The docket page records comment activity for the associated docket document, with a comment window that opened on August 19, 2026. The notice itself sets October 19, 2026 as the date by which comments must be postmarked, sent, or received.

There is no federal court consolidation here, no multidistrict litigation, and no bellwether trial process. An MDL, or multidistrict litigation, is a procedural mechanism that groups related federal lawsuits before one judge; none of that applies to an agency paperwork notice. There is also no judicial opinion or appellate ruling in the record for this action. The next visible step, based on the notice alone, is OSHA’s consideration of comments received before the agency proceeds with the OMB request.

The docket lists nine supporting documents, spanning supporting statements dated July 2010 through August 2026. One docket entry notes that a document was inadvertently added to the docket and can be viewed in its proper docket at OSHA-2010-0025-0008, which shows the docket has been curated over time.

Key dates

  • July 2010: A supporting statement for 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1)(i) and (e)(1)(ii) under OMB Control No. 1218-0229 appears in the docket.
  • December 2013: A supporting statement for 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1) under OMB Control No. 1218-0229 appears in the docket.
  • April 2015: A supporting statement for reports of injuries to employees operating mechanical power presses (29 CFR 1910.217(g), OMB Control No. 1218-0070) appears in the docket.
  • July 2017: An extension supporting statement for 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1) under OMB Control No. 1218-0229 appears in the docket.
  • October 2020: A further extension supporting statement for the same collection appears in the docket.
  • February 2024: A supporting statement for 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1) under OMB Control No. 1218-0220 appears in the docket.
  • August 2026: The newest supporting statement for 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1) under OMB Control No. 1218-0229 is dated and listed in the docket.
  • August 19, 2026: OSHA publishes the request for comments at 91 FR 53665.
  • October 19, 2026: The comment deadline set in the notice.

What this does not establish

The notice does not create, amend, or repeal any safety requirement for mechanical power presses. It concerns the paperwork side of the standard: the information employers or others must record or report. The record supplied here does not quantify the burden hours, the number of respondents, or the cost estimates associated with the collection; those figures would appear in the supporting statement, which is listed in the docket but not reproduced in the notice data reviewed here.

The notice also does not describe any injury, fatality, citation, penalty, or enforcement case. It does not identify any employer, manufacturer, or injured worker, and no such party is named in the record. It does not predict whether OMB will approve the extension or on what terms.

Finally, the publication of the notice is not a finding that the standard’s paperwork requirements are adequate, necessary, or burdensome. Those are questions commenters may address, and the agency’s action on the comments is not shown in the record.

Frequently asked questions

What does the August 19, 2026 OSHA notice propose?

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration published a notice at 91 FR 53665 proposing to extend Office of Management and Budget approval of the information collection requirements in the Mechanical Power Press Standard. The agency characterizes the action as a request for public comments. No approval decision appears in the notice.

When is the comment deadline for the Mechanical Power Press Standard paperwork notice?

The notice sets October 19, 2026 as the deadline, with comments required to be postmarked, sent, or received by that date. The notice was published in the Federal Register on August 19, 2026. It appears in Docket No. OSHA-2010-0026.

Which regulation and OMB control number are involved?

The docket’s supporting statements tie the collection to 29 CFR 1910.217(e)(1) and OMB Control No. 1218-0229. The August 2026 supporting statement, the most recent listed, uses that control number. An earlier February 2024 statement in the same docket references OMB Control No. 1218-0220.

Is this notice a lawsuit, a settlement, or a court ruling?

The notice is a regulatory action by a federal agency, not litigation. There is no court, no consolidated proceeding, and no settlement in the record. The action is a request for comments on renewing OMB approval of an information collection, and the notice itself is the source of its terms.

Does this notice change the mechanical power press safety rules?

The notice addresses the standard’s information collection requirements and OMB approval, and it does not state any change to the safety requirements. The record supplied does not show burden estimates or costs for the collection. Whether OMB approves the extension is not stated.

Related reading on this site includes coverage of another OSHA paperwork extension, the cadmium in general industry standard OMB approval request, and a parallel fire protection in shipyard employment standard extension notice. Readers interested in how workplace injury claims are generally handled can review the commercial truck collision claims overview.

Sources

  1. Federal Register: “Mechanical Power Press Standard; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements” (link, accessed 2026-11-02)
  2. Federal Register: “All Documents” API listing, newest first (link, accessed 2026-11-02)
  3. Federal Register: “Agencies” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-02)
  4. Federal Register: “Documents of type Rule” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-02)
  5. Federal Register: “Documents of type Notice” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-02)
  6. Federal Register: “Documents of type Proposed Rule” API listing (link, accessed 2026-11-02)

Related coverage

CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Source register

This article's claims are tied to the 6 sources listed in the Sources section above. Primary documents are used wherever available; secondary reporting is labelled as such.