Personal Injury

OSHA Grain Handling Facilities Standard Lawsuit

The OSHA Grain Handling Facilities Standard notice, published October 29, 2026, seeks comments on extending OMB approval of its information collection requirements.

Advertisement

Advertisement

An illustration of a grain elevator with stacked storage silos and a paper document marked with a public comment deadline.
An illustration of a grain elevator with stacked storage silos and a paper document marked with a public comment deadline.
On this page

Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is requesting public comments on a proposal to extend the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) approval of the information collection (paperwork) requirements in the Grain Handling Facilities Standard, 29 CFR 1910.272. The notice, document 2026-22023, was published in the Federal Register on October 29, 2026, at 91 FR 68170. Comments must be submitted by December 28, 2026, under Docket No. OSHA-2011-0028.

At a glance

  • OSHA published the notice on October 29, 2026, in the Federal Register at 91 FR 68170, spanning pages 68170 to 68171.
  • The action is labeled “Request for public comments” and concerns extension of OMB approval of the standard’s information collection requirements.
  • The deadline for comments is December 28, 2026, with comments postmarked, sent, or received by that date.
  • The notice belongs to Docket No. OSHA-2011-0028, and the comment submission is tracked as OSHA-2011-0028-0020.
  • OMB Control Number 1218-0206 is the approval the agency proposes to extend, referencing the October 2026 supporting statement.

What OSHA’s notice actually does

OSHA’s October 29, 2026 notice solicits public comments concerning a proposal to extend OMB approval of the information collection requirements specified in the Grain Handling Facilities Standard. The standard is codified at 29 CFR 1910.272. The agency’s action is described in the Federal Register as a request for public comments, not as a revision or repeal of the standard.

The notice sits under the Department of Labor and its subagency, OSHA. It carries no effective date and lists no corrections to earlier documents. The Federal Register metadata places the notice at 91 FR 68170 through 91 FR 68171, a two-page document.

The underlying approval carries OMB Control Number 1218-0206. The record includes a supporting statement for the information collection requirements of the Grain Handling Facilities Standard, dated October 2026. Prior supporting statements in the docket are dated February 2024, October 2020, July 2017, and January 2011.

What is established vs. what is alleged

This row involves no allegation or disputed claim. It is a federal agency notice, and the established facts are procedural and documentary.

Established by the Federal Register text: OSHA issued the notice, the document number is 2026-22023, the publication date is October 29, 2026, the citation is 91 FR 68170, the action type is a request for public comments, and the comment deadline is December 28, 2026.

Not established: the sources do not describe any inspection, citation, injury, enforcement proceeding or court case involving a grain handling facility. The notice does not propose changes to the substance of 29 CFR 1910.272. It does not state what the information collection requirements obligate employers to do beyond the reference to the standard. The full supporting statement narrative is not reproduced in the documents supplied here.

Where the matter stands procedurally

There is no federal court consolidation, multidistrict litigation (MDL, a procedure that centralizes related federal cases before one judge) or bellwether trial (a representative early trial used to test claims) connected to this notice. The matter is administrative: a comment period on an information collection renewal.

Comments may be submitted through the Regulations.gov comment page associated with OSHA-2011-0028-0020. The Federal Register record shows zero comments posted and opened the comment window on October 29, 2026, with a Regulations.gov end date of December 29, 2026. The notice itself sets the deadline as December 28, 2026, requiring comments to be postmarked, sent, or received by then. The agency has not announced a decision on the extension proposal.

How the Paperwork Reduction Act renewal fits in

Under the Paperwork Reduction Act (PRA), a federal agency must periodically obtain OMB approval for the information it collects from the public, and that approval expires unless renewed. This notice is the public comment step in that renewal cycle for OMB Control Number 1218-0206, the approval attached to the Grain Handling Facilities Standard.

The docket history shows the cycle repeating: supporting statements for the same control number were filed for January 2011, July 2017, October 2020, February 2024, and October 2026. One earlier docket entry is titled “Grain Handling Facilities (29 CFR 1910.272). Announcement of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Control Numbers Under the Paperwork Reduction Act,” referencing the same PRA announcement process. The Federal Register record lists eight supporting documents in Docket No. OSHA-2011-0028.

This bureaucratic step is distinct from enforcement. A renewal of OMB approval does not by itself amend 29 CFR 1910.272 or alter an employer’s duty to comply with the standard’s safety provisions.

Key dates

  • October 29, 2026: OSHA published document 2026-22023 at 91 FR 68170, announcing the proposal to extend OMB approval and opening the comment period.
  • October 29, 2026: the Regulations.gov record shows the comment start date.
  • November 3, 2026: the Federal Register page-view counter last updated at this timestamp, showing 97 page views.
  • December 28, 2026: the deadline set in the notice’s DATES field; comments must be postmarked, sent, or received by this date.
  • December 29, 2026: the comment end date recorded on Regulations.gov, one day after the deadline stated in the notice.

What this does not establish

The documents do not show that OSHA has changed, weakened or strengthened the Grain Handling Facilities Standard. The notice proposes to extend OMB approval of information collection requirements; it does not propose substantive rule changes.

The record does not show any injury, fatality or citation at a grain handling facility. It does not describe a lawsuit, class action or court order. No decision on the extension had been announced in the supplied materials.

The documents do not quantify the burden hours associated with the information collection, the number of affected facilities, or the dollar cost of compliance. Those details would appear in the October 2026 supporting statement, which is referenced in the docket but not reproduced here.

The notice does not state that compliance with 29 CFR 1910.272 protects a worker from any particular harm, and it does not offer a legal remedy or compensation to anyone. Related OSHA paperwork renewal notices follow the same format, such as those for the cadmium in general industry standard extension, the fire protection in shipyard employment standard extension, and the mechanical power press standard extension.

Frequently asked questions

What is the OSHA Grain Handling Facilities Standard notice 2026-22023?

The notice is a federal agency request for public comments on extending OMB approval of the information collection requirements in the Grain Handling Facilities Standard at 29 CFR 1910.272. OSHA published document 2026-22023 in the Federal Register on October 29, 2026, at 91 FR 68170. It is a procedural paperwork renewal step, not a change to the standard’s safety provisions.

When is the comment deadline for the Grain Handling Facilities Standard notice?

Comments must be postmarked, sent, or received by December 28, 2026, according to the DATES field of the notice. Regulations.gov lists a comment end date of December 29, 2026, one day later. Comments are filed under Docket No. OSHA-2011-0028, tracked as OSHA-2011-0028-0020.

Does this notice change the Grain Handling Facilities Standard?

No. The notice concerns extension of OMB approval for the information collection requirements of 29 CFR 1910.272 and is categorized as a request for public comments. The Federal Register record lists no effective date and no corrections to prior documents. It does not propose amendments to the standard’s substantive requirements.

What approval is OSHA seeking to extend?

OSHA seeks to extend OMB approval under OMB Control Number 1218-0206. The docket includes supporting statements for the information collection requirements dated October 2026, February 2024, October 2020, July 2017, and January 2011. Each reflects the periodic renewal cycle under the Paperwork Reduction Act.

The supplied documents show no litigation, court order or MDL connected to this notice. The action is an administrative comment request from the Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration. The record shows zero comments posted and no agency decision on the extension proposal.

Sources

  1. Federal Register (federalregister.gov): “Grain Handling Facilities Standard; Extension of the Office of Management and Budget’s (OMB) Approval of Information Collection (Paperwork) Requirements” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
  2. Federal Register (federalregister.gov): “All Documents” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
  3. Federal Register (federalregister.gov): “Documents of type Rule” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
  4. Federal Register (federalregister.gov): “Documents of type Notice” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
  5. Federal Register (federalregister.gov): “Documents of type Proposed Rule” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)

Related coverage

CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Source register

This article's claims are tied to the 6 sources listed in the Sources section above. Primary documents are used wherever available; secondary reporting is labelled as such.