Medical Device Litigation
Paragard IUD settlement amounts Settlement
Paragard IUD settlement amounts are not disclosed in the cited SEC filings. The record shows only the $1.1 billion 2017 acquisition price and current litigation status.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
No published settlement amount for Paragard IUD claims appears in The Cooper Companies’ cited SEC filings. The only dollar figure the documents attach to Paragard is the $1.1 billion cash price Cooper agreed to pay Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. for the product in a September 11, 2017 asset purchase agreement. Settlement totals are not reported in the filings reviewed here.
At a glance
- The Cooper Companies announced a definitive asset purchase agreement on September 11, 2017 to acquire the global rights and business of the Paragard IUD from Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. for $1.1 billion in cash.
- Paragard had revenues of approximately $168 million for the trailing twelve-month period ending June 30, 2017, according to the same announcement.
- The acquired business includes Teva’s manufacturing facility in Buffalo, NY, which exclusively produces the Paragard IUD.
- Cooper’s first quarter 2018 release, dated March 8, 2018, records a $202.0 million net charge related to U.S. tax legislation, a figure unrelated to Paragard litigation.
- None of the four filings supplied here states a settlement amount, a settlement fund, a claims count or a court docket number for Paragard litigation.
What $1.1 billion actually refers to
The $1.1 billion figure is the acquisition price, not a litigation outcome. The Cooper Companies announced on September 11, 2017 that it had entered into a definitive asset purchase agreement with Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. to acquire the global rights and business of the Paragard Intrauterine Device (IUD) in a $1.1 billion cash transaction. The boards of both companies approved the transaction, and closing was expected before the end of calendar year 2017, subject to customary closing conditions including antitrust clearance. Cooper arranged a commitment for a bridge loan of $1.1 billion to support funding.
The same announcement describes the product being bought. Paragard is an IUD inserted into the uterus for long-term contraception, using a T-shaped plastic frame with copper wire and copper sleeves. The announcement states Paragard was FDA approved for contraception for up to ten years after insertion, is the only copper IUD available in the U.S., and is sold only in the U.S. Cooper estimated the U.S. IUD market at approximately $1 billion, with about 16% believed to be non-hormonal IUDs.
The acquisition presentation filed the same day repeats the $1.1 billion cash figure and adds operational detail: a single manufacturing facility in Buffalo, NY dedicated to making Paragard, distribution primarily through one distributor, and approximately 45 employees (two thirds commercial, one third manufacturing). It states Paragard was FDA approved in 1984.
Where litigation costs appear in the record
The filings mention litigation only as a category of business risk and cost, never as a resolved Paragard claim. The March 8, 2018 earnings release lists among forward-looking risk factors “legal costs, insurance expenses, settlement costs and the risk of an adverse decision, prohibitive injunction or settlement related to product liability, patent infringement or other litigation.” The September 11, 2017 announcement carries nearly identical language. Those are risk disclosures about litigation generally, not statements that any Paragard settlement exists or what it paid.
The first quarter 2018 release also records Paragard acquisition accounting. Cost of sales included $22.0 million in CooperSurgical primarily related to the Paragard inventory step-up release (an accounting adjustment to the value of acquired inventory). The release notes a $202.0 million net charge tied to newly enacted U.S. tax legislation and a $1.7 million bridge loan termination fee related to CooperSurgical’s Paragard acquisition. Total debt rose $1,229.8 million from October 31, 2017 to $2,402.5 million, primarily due to acquisitions led by Paragard.
What is established vs. what is alleged
Established by the documents supplied: the purchase price and date, the seller, the manufacturing location, the revenue figure for the trailing twelve months ending June 30, 2017, the regulatory history cited by the company (FDA approval in 1984, ten-year contraceptive indication), and the accounting charges tied to the acquisition. These are company statements filed with the SEC, not court findings.
Not established by the documents supplied: any allegation by any Paragard user, any court ruling on Paragard liability, any verdict, any settlement, any settlement amount, any claims count and any proceeding in which Paragard litigation is consolidated. The filings reviewed here do not even name a Paragard lawsuit. Readers looking for how device litigation generally moves from filing to resolution can compare the hernia mesh settlement amounts page, which covers a different product and a different record, or the Bard implanted port catheter litigation overview.
Where the claims stand procedurally as of this record
The cited documents do not place Paragard claims in any court. No MDL number (Multidistrict Litigation, a consolidation of federal cases before one judge by the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation) appears in the four filings supplied. No bellwether trial (an early test trial chosen from a group of similar cases) is mentioned, and no trial date, appeal or settlement approval is described. The most recent document supplied, Cooper’s Form 10-Q for the quarter ended April 30, 2019, is represented here only by its cover page and table of contents, which do not include litigation discussion. On this record, the procedural posture of any Paragard claim is simply not reported.
Key dates
- September 11, 2017: The Cooper Companies announces a definitive asset purchase agreement with Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. to acquire the global rights and business of the Paragard IUD for $1.1 billion in cash.
- September 11, 2017: Cooper’s acquisition presentation states the transaction is expected to close by calendar year end 2017 and cites Paragard’s FDA approval in 1984.
- December 31, 2017 (expected): Closing targeted before calendar year end 2017, subject to customary closing conditions including antitrust clearance.
- March 8, 2018: Cooper’s first quarter 2018 earnings release reports results for the quarter ended January 31, 2018, including a $22.0 million Paragard inventory step-up release in cost of sales and a $1.7 million bridge loan termination fee.
- July 31, 2018: End of the quarterly period covered by Cooper’s Form 10-Q filed for that quarter.
- April 30, 2019: End of the quarterly period covered by Cooper’s Form 10-Q filed for that quarter.
What this does not establish
This record does not show that any Paragard lawsuit was filed, that any claim was settled, or that any amount was paid to any claimant. It does not give a per-case settlement range, an average payout, a claims deadline or a settlement fund size. It does not identify a court, a judge, a docket number, an MDL number or a trial date. It does not report any verdict or appeal. It does not address injury allegations, and nothing here should be read as describing what any claimant experienced. The absence of a settlement figure in these filings does not prove no settlement exists; it means these particular documents do not report one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the $1.1 billion Paragard figure?
The $1.1 billion is the cash purchase price The Cooper Companies agreed to pay Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. for the global rights and business of the Paragard IUD, announced on September 11, 2017. It is an acquisition price, not a settlement, verdict or claims fund. No document supplied here connects that figure to litigation payments.
Have Paragard IUD settlements been reported in SEC filings?
The SEC filings supplied here by The Cooper Companies do not report any Paragard IUD settlement amount. They discuss litigation only as a generic risk factor covering legal costs, insurance expenses and settlement costs across the business. A reader should treat any specific Paragard settlement figure encountered elsewhere as requiring its own court or company document.
Is Paragard litigation consolidated in an MDL?
No MDL number for Paragard litigation appears in the four SEC filings supplied here. Those filings do not name any Paragard lawsuit, court or docket. Confirming whether federal consolidation exists requires the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation docket, which is not part of this record.
How much revenue did Paragard generate before the acquisition?
Paragard had revenues of approximately $168 million for the trailing twelve-month period ending June 30, 2017, according to Cooper’s September 11, 2017 announcement. That is a revenue figure for the product, not a litigation or settlement number. Cooper also estimated the total U.S. IUD market at approximately $1 billion.
Why do the filings mention settlement costs at all?
The March 8, 2018 and September 11, 2017 releases both list settlement costs among forward-looking risk factors that could cause actual results to differ from projections. That language is standard securities disclosure about product liability and other litigation generally. It is not a statement that a Paragard settlement occurred or what it paid. Readers seeking broader background on device litigation mechanics can review the hernia mesh litigation overview.
Sources
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (The Cooper Companies, Inc.): “The Cooper Companies Announces First Quarter 2018 Results” (link, accessed 2026-02-14)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (The Cooper Companies, Inc.): “The Cooper Companies Announces Definitive Agreement to Acquire Paragard IUD from Teva” (link, accessed 2026-02-14)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (The Cooper Companies, Inc.): “Acquisition of Paragard IUD from Teva” (investor presentation, Exhibit 99.2) (link, accessed 2026-02-14)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (The Cooper Companies, Inc.): “Form 10-Q for the Quarterly Period Ended July 31, 2018” (link, accessed 2026-02-14)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (The Cooper Companies, Inc.): “Form 10-Q for the Quarterly Period Ended April 30, 2019” (link, accessed 2026-02-14)
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (The Cooper Companies, Inc.): “Form 10-Q for the Quarterly Period Ended April 30, 2018” (link, accessed 2026-02-14)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement