Paragard IUD settlement amounts Settlement Case Study
Paragard IUD settlement amounts Settlement — the medical device litigation record. Drawn from 3 official documents, with the outcome each one establishes and what it leaves undecided.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Why this case matters
The Paragard intrauterine device has become one of the more closely watched subjects in medical-device litigation, and a large part of that attention has settled on a single question: what are the settlement amounts? Readers searching for that answer encounter a great deal of confident-sounding material and very little primary evidence. This case study examines what the available documents actually contain, and what they do not.
The honest answer, drawn from the record supplied here, is narrow. The documents referenced for this analysis do not disclose any Paragard settlement amount. The only dollar figure the record carries is a $1.1 billion acquisition price from 2017. Everything else that a reader might expect (per-claimant figures, aggregate resolution values, timelines of payouts) is absent. That absence is itself the central finding, and it matters because settlement figures circulate widely in summaries and aggregator pages that do not trace back to a filing, a court order, or any other disclosable source.
Understanding this distinction is useful well beyond Paragard. Device litigation generates a steady stream of number-shaped claims, and the gap between what a publicly available record shows and what secondary commentary asserts is often wide. A retrospective reading of this matter is therefore as much an exercise in source discipline as it is a summary of a product-liability dispute.
The official record
The documents supplied for this analysis are drawn from federal device databases maintained by the Food and Drug Administration, including enforcement, premarket notification (510(k)), and recall datasets. These datasets carry their own published caveats. Each of them states that the data should not be relied upon for decisions regarding medical care, and that results should be assumed to be unvalidated. The enforcement dataset adds a further caution about the consequences of a compromised sterile barrier, describing a range of possible health outcomes from no injury through localized infection to less commonly a more serious infection requiring medical treatment, antimicrobial therapy, procedural intervention, or hospitalization.
Those caveats are not boilerplate to be skipped. They define the epistemic status of everything that follows: the material is a regulatory reference set, not an adjudicated finding, and it is expressly presented as unvalidated by the agency that publishes it.
The recall material in the record also illustrates how easily unrelated entries can be mistaken for case-specific evidence. The recall dataset returned to this analysis contains entries concerning firms and products with no stated connection to the device at issue, including a portable radiographic system and a line of sterile hoods, with reasons given for those recalls that concern source-skin distance, tube housing labeling, and packaging integrity. None of that material speaks to Paragard, its labeling, or any litigation. A reader assembling a picture of this matter from keyword searches could readily pull such entries into a summary by mistake. The record does not support doing so.
What the record does contain on the commercial side is spare: the $1.1 billion acquisition price paid in 2017, and a description of the litigation as currently pending. The record does not state a settlement figure, an aggregate resolution value, a per-claimant amount, a claims-registry count, a bellwether result, or a date on which any global resolution was reached. Where this analysis says the record is silent, that silence is literal.
What the documents establish
Three findings can be stated with confidence because the documents support them directly.
First, the acquisition price is documented at $1.1 billion for a 2017 transaction. That figure is a purchase price, not a litigation outcome, and the two should not be conflated. An acquisition price reflects a valuation negotiated between buyer and seller; it says nothing about what any claimant recovered, what any defendant reserved, or how any individual claim was valued.
Second, the litigation status described in the record is pending. The documents do not describe a verdict, a court-approved class settlement, or a regulatory enforcement resolution of the claims. A pending posture means that any figure presented as a final resolution is, on this record, unsupported.
Third, the FDA datasets that make up the bulk of the supplied material are regulatory in nature and expressly unvalidated. They describe device reporting and recall activity, not the merits or value of civil claims. A recall entry, where one exists, records a firm’s action and a stated reason; it does not establish causation in any individual case, and it does not establish damages.
Beyond those three points, the documents do not carry the information a reader seeking settlement amounts would want. The record does not state a figure for any settlement. It does not state a claims count. It does not state a mediation date, a special master appointment, a settlement administrator, or a claims deadline. Those omissions should be reported as omissions, not filled with estimates, ranges, or averages computed from unrelated matters.
How a claim of this kind is assessed
Device-injury claims generally move through a recognizable sequence, and understanding that sequence explains why public records so rarely contain the numbers readers want.
A claim typically begins with an allegation: that a device caused an injury, and that the manufacturer’s conduct in designing, labeling, or warning about it was legally deficient. An allegation is not a finding. It is one party’s characterization, and it remains contested unless and until a court, a regulator, or a settlement resolves it. Precision about that status is not pedantry; describing an allegation as established fact misstates the record.
Where many claimants raise similar allegations, federal courts sometimes consolidate pretrial proceedings. That consolidation does not decide the merits. It organizes discovery, expert review, and preliminary motions, and it may produce bellwether trials intended to inform later negotiations. The record supplied here does not describe such a process for this device, so no specific procedural history should be attributed to it.
Assessment of an individual claim generally turns on medical records documenting the injury and its timing, the device identification and implant history, the treating physicians’ observations, and the fit between the alleged injury and the mechanism the plaintiff asserts. Defense assessment turns on the same material viewed through Questions of alternative causation, pre-existing conditions, and the adequacy of the product’s warnings. Regulatory history, including recall activity, can be relevant context, but a recall is not a causal finding, and the datasets here say as much in their own disclaimers.
Settlement, where it occurs, is a contractual resolution. It is not a judicial determination of fault, and its terms are frequently confidential. That confidentiality is the ordinary reason public records do not disclose amounts. When no filing, order, or agency record states a figure, the accurate statement is that the record does not disclose one. Multiplying a reported total by an assumed claimant count, or averaging figures from other device litigations, produces a number that no source supports.
What to check before relying on any figure
Readers encountering a specific dollar amount attached to this matter should apply a short series of checks before treating it as reliable.
Ask what kind of document the figure comes from. A court order, a settlement agreement filed on a docket, a regulatory action, and a verdict each carry different weight and different meaning. A figure attributed to “reports” or “sources close to the litigation” is not a documented outcome, and it should be labeled as unverified. The status labels matter: alleged, court order, regulatory action, settlement, and verdict are not interchangeable.
Ask whether the figure is a purchase price, a reserve, an aggregate, or a per-claimant amount. In this matter, the only figure the record supports is the $1.1 billion acquisition price from 2017, which is a transaction value and not a litigation result. Presenting it as a settlement figure would misstate the record.
Ask whether the underlying source discloses its own limitations. The FDA datasets cited here state plainly that they are not to be relied upon for medical decisions and that results are unvalidated. Any summary that cites such material while presenting conclusions as settled is overstating its evidence.
Ask whether a number is presented as an expected outcome. No figure in this record supports a projection of what any claim is worth, and none should be offered as one. Information of this kind is published to explain how matters of this type proceed, not to guide individual decisions, which depend on facts and law that no general publication can assess.
Finally, accept silence as an answer. For this matter, the record shows a 2017 acquisition price and a pending litigation posture, and it does not disclose settlement amounts. A careful account says exactly that, and resists the pull of a precise-sounding number that no document supports.
Sources
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement