Class Actions
FTC Seeks Comment on Publicis and LiveRamp Consent Order Lawsuit
The FTC published a Federal Register notice on the proposed Publicis and LiveRamp consent order, with public comments due November 23, 2026, in Docket No. C-4841.
Advertisement
Advertisement

On this page
Something in this article wrong, out of date, or missing its source? Tell the editorial desk.
The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) published a Federal Register notice on October 23, 2026, seeking public comment on a proposed consent agreement with Publicis and LiveRamp. The notice, document number 2026-21659 at 91 FR 66842, attaches an Analysis of Proposed Agreement Containing Consent Order to Aid Public Comment. Comments must be received on or before November 23, 2026.
At a glance
- The FTC published the notice at 91 FR 66842 on October 23, 2026, spanning pages 66842 to 66844.
- The document is docketed as FTC Docket No. C-4841 and carries File No. 2610115.
- The comment period closes November 23, 2026, and comments are filed under FTC-2026-1717-0001 on Regulations.gov.
- The consent agreement settles alleged violations of Federal law prohibiting unfair methods of competition, per the notice abstract.
- The notice attaches the Analysis of Proposed Agreement Containing Consent Order to Aid Public Comment, which describes both the complaint allegations and the consent order terms.
What the Federal Register notice does
The FTC’s notice is categorized as a proposed consent agreement requesting comment, not as a final order. Its abstract states that the consent agreement in this matter settles alleged violations of Federal law prohibiting unfair methods of competition. The abstract also states that the attached Analysis of Proposed Agreement Containing Consent Order to Aid Public Comment describes both the allegations in the complaint and the terms of the consent order, which the notice says is embodied in the consent agreement, that would settle these allegations. In other words, the publication opens a comment window on a proposed set of terms; it does not itself record terms, findings or admissions.
The notice ran three pages in the Federal Register, from start page 66842 to end page 66844. It appears under the FTC’s Federal Register agency listing and carries no Code of Federal Regulations references and no regulation identification numbers. The publication date is October 23, 2026, and the record shows no correction of the document and no corrections filed against it.
How the comment process works
Public comment is the step the notice announces. The stated deadline is November 23, 2026, expressed in the document as “Comments must be received on or before November 23, 2026.” The comment URL listed in the notice points to Regulations.gov under the identifier FTC-2026-1717-0001.
The associated docket, FTC-2026-1717, is titled “FTC Seek Analysis to Aid Public Comment on Proposed Agreement; Publicis and LiveRamp; File No. 2610115.” The same docket record shows a comment window that opened October 22, 2026, and an end date of November 24, 2026, one day later than the November 23 date in the notice’s dates line. The docket record also shows that late comments are not allowed. The regulatory record captured in the source materials lists 7 comments as of the most recent update shown, November 2, 2026.
A consent order is an agreement between an agency and the named parties that resolves claims without a litigated decision, which is why the FTC publishes it for comment before deciding whether to make it final. This article describes that process in general terms and does not advise any reader on whether or how to comment.
What is established vs. what is alleged
Established by the record: the FTC issued a proposed consent agreement and request for comment, published on October 23, 2026, in the Federal Register. Established: the docket number (C-4841), the file number (2610115), the Regulations.gov identifier (FTC-2026-1717-0001), the comment deadline (November 23, 2026) and the page range (66842 to 66844). Established: the notice attaches an analysis describing both the complaint allegations and the proposed order terms.
Alleged, not decided: the violations of Federal law prohibiting unfair methods of competition that the consent agreement is described as settling. The abstract calls these “alleged violations.” A settlement of allegations is not a judicial finding that the allegations are true, and nothing in the notice record states that any tribunal has ruled on them.
Where the matter stands procedurally
The claims are at the comment stage of an FTC administrative consent process in FTC Docket No. C-4841 as of October 2026. No federal court consolidation exists for this matter in the record: there is no MDL (multidistrict litigation, a procedure that combines related federal cases before one judge) and no Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation (JPML) action mentioned. There is likewise no bellwether trial (a test trial chosen from a group of similar cases) and no appeal described. The only procedural step the documents record is publication of the proposed agreement and analysis for public comment, with a stated closing date of November 23, 2026.
The source materials do not include the underlying complaint, the full text of the proposed order, the Analysis itself, or any statement that the FTC has voted to finalize the agreement. Those documents exist outside this record, and what they say is not established here.
Key dates
- October 22, 2026: the comment window on FTC-2026-1717 opened, per the docket record.
- October 23, 2026: the FTC published the notice at 91 FR 66842.
- November 2, 2026: the most recent docket update captured in the source record, showing 7 comments.
- November 23, 2026: the comment deadline stated in the notice.
- November 24, 2026: the comment end date shown in the docket record, which states late comments are not allowed.
What this does not establish
The record does not state what conduct the FTC’s complaint alleges beyond the general description of alleged unfair methods of competition. It does not list the specific terms of the proposed consent order, such as prohibitions, reporting duties, divestitures or monetary provisions. It does not say whether the FTC has accepted, modified or withdrawn the agreement, or when a final decision is expected. It does not identify the parties’ subsidiaries or affiliates, the products or services at issue, or the market the FTC examined. It does not establish that any allegation is true or that any violation occurred. It does not describe any private lawsuit, class action, MDL or court proceeding involving Publicis or LiveRamp. It does not state whether Publicis or LiveRamp has admitted or denied anything, beyond the abstract’s framing of a settlement of alleged violations. Nothing in the record predicts the outcome of the comment process.
Frequently asked questions
What did the FTC publish about Publicis and LiveRamp?
The FTC published a Federal Register notice, document 2026-21659 at 91 FR 66842, on October 23, 2026. The notice seeks comment on a proposed consent agreement with Publicis and LiveRamp and attaches an Analysis of Proposed Agreement Containing Consent Order to Aid Public Comment. The matter is docketed as FTC Docket No. C-4841.
When is the comment deadline for the Publicis and LiveRamp consent order?
The notice states that comments must be received on or before November 23, 2026. Comments are filed through Regulations.gov under identifier FTC-2026-1717-0001, in docket FTC-2026-1717. The docket record shows an end date of November 24, 2026 and states that late comments are not allowed.
Does the notice mean the FTC has decided the case?
No. The document is a proposed consent agreement with a request for comment, not a final ruling. Its abstract describes the agreement as settling alleged violations of Federal law prohibiting unfair methods of competition. The publication opens the comment period before any final step, and the record does not show that the FTC has finalized the order.
What is in the attached analysis of the proposed order?
The abstract says the attached Analysis of Proposed Agreement Containing Consent Order to Aid Public Comment describes both the allegations in the complaint and the terms of the consent order. The consent order terms are described as embodied in the consent agreement that would settle the allegations. The analysis text itself is not part of the source record for this article.
Is there a class action or MDL involving Publicis and LiveRamp?
The source documents describe only the FTC administrative matter in Docket No. C-4841, with no MDL, class action, JPML proceeding, trial date or appeal mentioned. Readers researching data-related consumer litigation more broadly can review CollectiveClaim’s coverage of the 23andMe data breach case and the Snowflake data breach litigation.
Sources
- Federal Register (Federal Trade Commission): “Publicis and LiveRamp; Analysis of Proposed Agreement Containing Consent Order To Aid Public Comment” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register: “All Documents” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register: “Agencies” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register: “Documents of type Rule” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register: “Documents of type Notice” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
- Federal Register: “Documents of type Proposed Rule” (link, accessed 2026-11-03)
CollectiveClaim.us publishes general legal information. This article is not legal advice and does not create an attorney–client relationship. Court records and agency actions change; verify current status with the court or agency before relying on it.
Advertisement
Advertisement